THE YELLOW WALLPAPER, opening Jan. 26th, is a World Premiere production based on the short story by Charlotte Perkins Gilman. Using the classic American Gothic thriller as its base, THE YELLOW WALLPAPER explores the plight of a woman confined to a room for her health as she becomes obsessed with the wallpaper that surrounds her. When she discovers a small journal hidden in the wall, the past and the present begin to merge in ways both mysterious and unexpected.

The 2017-18 CallBack List is now posted. Please click on the Admissions tab.

Welcome to DSA Theatre

The Denver Public Schools’ Denver School of the Arts (DSA) is the only comprehensive arts magnet school in the Rocky Mountain region.  Founded in 1991, the sixth through twelfth grade school provides many unique opportunities to our 900+ students to nurture their creative talents in a supportive environment designed to encourage artistic and academic excellence.

NEW easy way to make your Guest Artist Contribution!!

Click the “Donate now” button on the DSA Friends Foundation website. You can make your donation with a credit card and you can even make monthly payments! BE SURE to write THEATRE DEPT – GAF in the Notes section. If you do not designate it to us, we won’t be able to track your donation. THANK YOU! We cannot continue to thrive as an arts program without your support.

CLICK HERE to be directed to the DSA Friends Foundation website

Jimmy Bruenger, Class of 2016

JimmyJimmy Bruenger was awarded the Mayor’s Award for Excellence in ARTS AND CULTURE: Youth Arts and Culture Award. This award honors an individual 17 or younger who has made a significant difference and/or impact in the community through the arts, or an organization that has significantly impacted the lives of children in the City and County of Denver through the arts.

CLICK HERE for the video (password is mayors2015)

Shawn Hann, DSA’s Director of Theatre

Ms. Hann received the Mayor’s Award for Excellence in ARTS AND CULTURE in the People’s Choice category is In School Arts. Nominees for this award are Denver Public Schools teachers who are creatively using arts in their curriculum.

DSA Theatre Students and The Laramie Project

The Matthew Shepard Foundation set out to capture a behind-the-scenes look at “The Laramie Project” with students at the Denver School of the Arts, who performed both “The Laramie Project” and “The Laramie Project: Ten Years Later” in January 2015. Combining the perspectives of Susan Burk, original Tectonic Theater Project member Kelli Simpkins and student performers, this video aims to capture the continued relevance of the themes presented in the play and define the life-changing experience cast and community members receive by putting on this production.

CLICK HERE for the video

Gabe Ebert, Class of 2005

Starring in Therese Raquin, alongside Keira Knightley, at Roundabout. Roundabout: Brief Encounter. Broadway: Casa Valentina (MTC),Matilda the Musical (2013 Tony Award for Best Featured Actor in a Musical), Red. Off-Broadway/Regional: Preludes (LCT3), 4,000 Miles (2011 OBIE award), Suicide, Prometheus (ART). Upcoming film: Ricki and the Flash, The Family Fang, Jane Wants a Boyfriend, Seagull (Anton Chekov) directed by the incomparable Brian Mertes up at the glorious Lake Lucille.

CLICK HERE for more information

Jessica Posner, Class of 2005

Jessica and her husband, Kennedy Odede, tell their story of their fight against poverty and hopelessness, the transformation made possible by true love, and the power of young people to deeply impact the world in their upcoming book Find Me Unafraid: Love, Loss, and Hope in an African Slum.  They are now finalists for the 2016 Dayton Literary Peace Prize nonfiction prize:

The shortlist includes “Between the World and Me” by Ta-Nehisi Coates, “The Sympathizer” by Viet Thanh Nguyen, “Nagasaki”i by Susan Southard, “Find Me Unafraid” by Kennedy Odede and Jessica Posner, and “A Little Life” by Hanya Yanagihara.

Find the book here: https://www.amazon.com/Find-Me-Unafraid-Love-African/dp/0062292862/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1474577710&sr=1-1&keywords=find+me+unafraid

And to donate to Shining Hope for Communities



Jamie Billings, Class of 2008

Jamie most recently directed her MFA dissertation piece in London, a devised cabaret called Not Enough. She also just attended the Gdansk Shakespeare Festival, assisting Kelly Hunter’s production of Hamlet: Who’s There?

CLICK HERE for more information

Sam Lips, Class of 2008

Newly cast as the Star of the West End’s Strictly Ballroom and he just finished the national tour of PIPPIN as Pippin. In the interview below Sam talks about getting started in the business, life on tour, and how the role of Pippin has changed his life. Sam is no stranger to the stage – he was in the Broadway cast of PIPPIN and has prior experience on Broadway in Rodgers and Hammerstein’s CINDERELLA as the understudy for Prince Topher. Other national tours include WICKED as the understudy for Fiyero.

CLICK HERE to read the interview

Class of 2010

Local, amazing artists: The Black Actor’s Guild

CLICK HERE for more information

Class of 2017

Josette Axne


Skye Bach-Davis


Georgia Raine Berg


Maia Brockbank


Amelia Corrada


Danielle Erickson


Kiera Eriksen-McAuliffe


Celena Flippen


Ryan Gardner


Brynn Gauthier


Steven Harmon


Alastair Hennessy


Calla Horan


Hannah Howard


McCabe Kasch


 Evan Lawson


Luke Marshall


Zoe Ogden


Celia Perez


Bryce Riffle


Cameron Seefried


Kian Shah


Adrian Stallcup


Meghan Stille


Samuel Theobald


Lydia Thompson


Sean Virnich


Beau Wilcox 


Logan Xavier